Archive for the ‘Manawatu showing Champs 2011’ Category

MSC 2011 roundup

March 15, 2011

The day could not have dawned better on showday. The cloud cover and gentle breeze of the morning eventually gave way to 28 degrees plus in the afternoon.  We had lots of entries on the day but the show still began at 9am promptly. Our six judges and stewards walked onto a beautiful surface which we have come to expect from the groundsman and caretaker at the Foxton racecourse.  The 92 competitors were reasonably spread throughout the rings and in many sections there was tough competition. At the conclusion of the morning classes, 4 sidesaddle lady riders came into the ring and we hope this section will grow in time. The major awards of the day were held in the afternoon and  a large crowd waited for the presentations. The day concluded with cold drinks all round and a promise to be back in one years time.

We have loaded the results from the morning and will follow with all  sponsors details and major awards and  the people who made it all happen. Thank you to everyone who attended the Manawatu showing Championships 2011.


Show Sponsors

March 15, 2011

Thank you to all of our sponsors and people who have donated the perpetual trophies that are offered for competition. (more…)

Some special moments and thank you’s.

March 15, 2011

On the Saturday night when we were setting up, both Ridley and I were suprised when a woman rode her quad over to us to ask if we would like a hand. Most of the time we say “No, we will be fine”, but this time I thought, gosh we really could do with some help! She stayed with us for ages setting up rings, adding flowers, sorting judges gifts, arranging the secretaries table and putting out the trophies. How fitting it was the next day when the same woman won the sportsmanship trophy!  So thank you Nichole from Ridley and me, you made our day with your kindness. (more…)

The Bruce Charles Clarke Memorial Teams Event

March 15, 2011

This event was made even more special in 2011 by the generous donation of $100.00 prize money for each member of the winning team. The Manawatu Saddle Up adult riding club gave us this wonderful donation to reward the most successful team and to honour the teamwork  between riders.

It is amazing how much you can accomplish when it doesn’t matter who gets the credit.


MSC 2011 Sportsmanship Award

March 11, 2011


The Quality Presentations sash and  the Steff Coldstream Memorial trophy were awarded to: Nichole McGee. (more…)

MSC 2011 Equine Inspiration Award

March 11, 2011

The Equine Inspiration award is a written competition that required a story of 5oo words or less describing why the horse in question deserves the title of  “Equine Inspiration” (more…)

MSC 2011 Champion of Champions: Show Horse

March 11, 2011

Champion: Nichole McGee and Ramiro
2nd Amanda McCutcheon and Skibbereen Manequin
3rd Michelle Pender and Coghill
4th Tessa Newton and Antique
5th Kirsten Rodeka and New Divide

Judith Buckeridge and Nichole McGee with Ramiro

MSC 2011 Champion of Champions: Show Pony

March 11, 2011

Champion: Adrienne VandenBerk and Brookfields Pic Pocket
2nd Ashleigh McIntyre and Fortification Scuse Me
3rd Kirsten Wareham and Amberidge Silver Glint
4th Lauren Dolan and Ty Gwynn Marquis
5th Kayla Wareham and Eden Court Calendar Girl

Adrienne and Brookfields Pic Pocket

Judges Fiona Mills and Judith Buckeridge present the champion of champions trophy, dress rug and $100.00 voucher to Adrienne along with the gift pack of products from Dom Health. They were generous sponsors of the event giving a gift pack to each of the winners of the champion of champion classes. We proudly sell their products at Horsewyse and you can visit their website from the link below.

MSC 2011 Champion of Champions: Junior Show Pony

March 11, 2011

Champion: Alyssa Fox and Fortification Scuse Me
2nd Emma Dickons and Sherwoods Royal Emblem
3rd Brooke Burns and Kirkwood Summer Sun
4th Emma Dickons and Nala Willowing Rose
5th Ruby Munro and Mahogany Rockafella (more…)

MSC 2011 Champion of Champions: Pleasure Horse

March 11, 2011

Champion: Toni Swatridge and My Tally Man
2nd Tamara Savage and Braveheart Leading Lady
3rd Caitlin Darrah and Leapfrog
4th Paula Glasgow riding JJ Raynors Merle
5th Shannon Louie and Calamity Jane (more…)